New to Rocky - Won't Boot from USB

Hello,

I am new to Rocky Linux. I have used Rufus, Unetbootin, Linux Mint’s built-in bootable USB creation utility and DD from the terminal in order to boot from the USB.

The image I am using is the dvd1.iso. I have run the checksum and all is OK with the image.

Unfortunately, I cannot boot from the USB in order to install the OS.

This is the message I get when trying to boot from USB:

Invalid image
Failed to read header: Unsupported
Failed to load image: Unsupported
start_image() returned Unsupported

The hardware in question is an HP ProDesk 600 G1 TWR.
Intel Core i5-4570 CPU
Nvidia GTX 730 (Gigabyte) GPU.

I’m not sure if the problem is hardware related or if the bootable USB isn’t created correctly.

I have installed Linux Mint and other Arch derivatives on the same machine. It is currently running Mint with which I tried to create multiple bootable USBs using different methods.

I always get the same error.

Hi @netstrider ,

sorry to read you’re having trouble.
In a nutshell, there is nothing special that needs to be done with regards to image writing, or that is different from other ISOs / distros and the one of RockyLinux.

From your description, I understand that you seem to have experience in creating bootable USB media from downloaded ISOs. So, first question: Are you using the correct image (in the sense of architecture: the x86_64) that is available at

https://download.rockylinux.org/pub/rocky/8/isos/x86_64/Rocky-8.5-x86_64-dvd1.iso

If yes, then next question is:
Did you check your USB media (thumb drive, I assume) is ok?
Perhaps it makes sense to try writing onto a different USB media to check if that makes a difference?

Finally, you could try to use Balena Etcher to write the image to USB.