Asking for guidance on modifying / patching UVC driver

Hi all :slight_smile: this isn’t an actual support request, I’m just trying to get a webcam to work, so if you have important things to do, do those :wink:

But I’d appreciate help with the following:

I would like to replace the already by default installed UVC driver with a modified version that I want/need to build from source code.

Why? The webcam doesn’t work because the driver doesn’t recognize it as a cam. It’s a know problem, and there is already a rough “tutorial” about how to fix this on ubuntu, which i have tested on a live ubuntu and it seems to work - i could use the cam there. I don’t have exactly the same cam model, but it’s easy to adapt the patch.
However, the steps and commands of this tutorial won’t work with Rocky, obviously, and I’m at a total loss here.
Tried some things, you know, “learning by doing”, but nothing worked, and it seems pointless to try this myself (I’m a linux newbie, sorry… am probably not using the correct terminology either…).

Here is the shortened tutorial for ubuntu:

Enable source code repositories, then fetch the source code with:

apt-get source linux-modules-extra-$(uname -r)

In the source code folder, navigate to:
/drivers/media/usb/uvc
Replace the uvcdriver.c file with the patched version.
Open directory in terminal, then:

make -j4 -C /lib/modules/$(uname -r)/build M=$(pwd) modules
sudo cp uvcvideo.ko /lib/modules/$(uname -r)/kernel/drivers/media/usb/uvc/

LINK to original post

I already struggle with the rocky source code.
For example, I’ve tried downloading it with $ dnf download --source kernel (found the command here in the forums) which downloaded a ~135 Mb kernel-…src.rpm , but it seems i can do nothing with it, it won’t install.