Virtualization : KVM/libvirt vs. Proxmox vs. oVirt?

Hi,

I’m looking for a robust and reliable virtualization platform for my Rocky Linux servers. So far I have some experience with Proxmox under Debian, which runs very nicely, except the security update cycle is too short, Debian being Debian.

I can manage KVM/libvirt OK on the command line and run a few virtual guest systems on a Rocky Linux 8 hypervisor. But my approach is quite simple and bone-headed.

Now I wonder if learning a tool like oVirt (and installing it on a Rocky Linux server) would be worth the hassle.

With Proxmox it’s possible to “spread out” the hypervisor against several nodes to gain some redundancy. Also, Proxmox has a very intuitive solution to make backups of running VMs (PBS, Proxmox Backup Server).

In short, I guess I’m looking for a Proxmox replacement for the Red Hat world. Would oVirt be a good solution for this ?

I can’t answer that question since I’ve used only the KVM/libvirt, which I mainly manage with virt-manager.
I’ve had more than one host and have used live migration of the guests so that I could update&reboot each host without stopping the guests. (Explicit migrations; no automated HA.)

2 Likes

Thanks, that sounds interesting. For the moment, I’m also managing KVM/libvirt with virt-manager.
Can you recommend some documentation for the live migration like you describe it ?

Alas, I did learn to do it over a decade ago and have forgotten how I did figure it out. :flushed:

Both ‘virt-manager’ (GUI) and ‘virsh’ (CLI) can do it. The transfer is via ssh or via libvirt’s(?) own protocol.

Essentially, the definition of VM (the xml dump) is copied first, then destination allocates RAM for VM
and content of RAM is copied over. Finally, VM in source is paused, final resync of RAM, VM in destination “continues”, and VM in source vanishes.