Need help installing Workstation Pro on Rocky 8.4

I’m new to Rocky Linux (CentOS 8), after happily using CentOS 7 for as long as it has existed.

I’ve just installed the 8.4 dvd iso on my brand-new Dell XPS-8940. That’s it’s own interesting thread.

I’m seeing a failure that is perhaps similar to “How to install VMPlayer on Rocky 8.4”. In my case, I’m attempting to install WorkstationPro 16 (the premium version of VMPlayer).

Workstation Pro 16 must build two modules, “vmmon” and “vmnet”, before it can launch. It attempts to do this the first time it is launched. When I attempt this, I see a relatively unhelpful complaint (from the VMWare installer) that says that the attempted install failed and refers me to the logs.

I’ve sorted through the various logs, and I think there are two of interest, each in /tmp and each created on each attempt to start Workstation Pro. The app creates two subdirectories when launched, /tmp/vmware-root and /tmp/vmware-tms (tms is my username during all this). It puts several log files in each of these two subdirectories.

I’m going to call the logs in /tmp/vmware-root the “root log” and the other “user Log”. Each logfile name is formed by appended “-” to a base name, in this case “vmware”.

So the two logfiles of interest are the root log (\tmp\vmware-root\vmware-4353.log) and the user log (\tmp\vmware-tms\vmware-4314.log). Each of these was created during the same launch attempt.

In addition, I captured stdin and stderr into my own log during a subsequent launch attempt.

It appears to me, from reading these logs, that VMWare installer is unable to successfully build vmmon. I see what appear to be complaints about syntax errors and variable miss-spellings. I’m hoping that this community can shed some light on how I can get this working on Rocky 8.4.

I have two specific questions:

1. Is this an issue with Rocky Linux v8.4, VMWare Workstation Pro 16, or both?
  2. Is there a reasonable work-around or fix?