Linux Virtual Console (ctrl + alt +FN ) only displays login prompt on integrated graphics (intel) but not nvidia GPU

Hello Everyone,

I’m new to Rocky (fairly new to Linux in general). I’ve been an end user on Centos 7 but now dabbling into sys admin in our academic computing labs. I have Dell Precision 3650 with integrated intel graphics and Nvidia GPU RTX 3070. The issue is:

When i invoke ctrl+alt+FN (2-7) , I see just a text output:

[ 0.665959] integrity: Problem loading X.509 certificate -126

but no login prompt when the video cable is plugged into the Nvidia GPU. However, if I plug it into the intel integrated graphics port, I get the login prompt.

I am not sure where to look in terms of troubleshooting. I did google on the nvidia forums and many have suggested using nomodeset in the /etc/default/grub but the problems people had was a blank screen. I’m not getting a blank screen, just not the login prompt.

We don’t have any use for the integrated graphics so I was hoping to divert all display functions to the nvidia GPU. I’ve installed the nvidia driver and it’s working.
We run gnome as the desktop so that shows up without issues. There doesn’t seem to be option to disable the integrated graphics only to pick which is primary which I have but that does not seem to work.

Thank you for your time and assistance,

Below are some settings and confirmation of nvidia drivers working.

lspci | grep VGA
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation RocketLake-S GT1 [UHD Graphics 750] (rev 04)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GA104 [GeForce RTX 3070] (rev a1)

nvidia-smi
Tue Dec 12 10:59:52 2023
±--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------+
| NVIDIA-SMI 545.23.08 Driver Version: 545.23.08 CUDA Version: 12.3 |
|-----------------------------------------±---------------------±---------------------+
| GPU Name Persistence-M | Bus-Id Disp.A | Volatile Uncorr. ECC |