Can install 9.0 but not 9.1 from USB drive

I am looking for help to resolve a persistent “not syncing” panic stop while trying to install Rocky Linux 9.1 but not when I install 9.0 under the exact same circumstances.

Context

The machine is currently running 9.1 (upgraded from 9.0) without any obvious issues but I’m now planning a fresh re-install of 9.1 in order to put it into service as a KVM/QEMU host.

Hardware

• M/B: ASUS Prime X570-P
  • CPU: Ryzen 5 5600X 4th Gen 6-core
  • RAM: Crucial Ballistix 3600 MHz DDR4 DRAM (2x16GB)
  • SSD: SAMSUNG 980 PRO 1TB PCIe NVMe Gen4
  • VGA: ATI AMD FirePro 2270 512MB PCI-E

UEFI BIOS Settings

• “Factory” settings
  • Secure boot disabled
  • Never overclocked; RAM running at 2666MHz

Things I have tried

• Using different USB drives.
  • Removing the two 16GB RAM sticks and using only one at a time.
  • Removing all cards except for the video card used for the console.

I have no experience with debugging kernel panic stops and have had no luck searching this forum nor googling for answers.

Kernel Panic

Based on the panic error below, I suspect a video driver issue even though the video card works fine for the console when I boot the existing Rocky 9.1 installation.

Can you try adding nomodeset to the kernel line before booting the installer? Perhaps that will help.

Thanks. Unfortunately adding nomodeset and continuing with Ctl+x resulted in what appears to be the exact same panic message

Maybe inst.xdriver=vesa

Thanks. Unfortunately the problem persists.

Can you clarify BIOS settings in both cases 9.0 and 9.1, disable CSM, secure boot, UEFI etc.

I’m interested in the AMD Firepro 2270, is that the passive cooling one?
I really liked that card, but ran into a problem with it where it didn’t support UEFI (without an unsupported firmware hack), and after looking more into the way it connected to the bus, I decided I’d have to replace it with a newer one.

Thanks for the suggestions and apologies for the late reply.