RHEL + clones vs. Debian/Ubuntu market share in professional context

Hi,

I’ve been working as a Linux trainer since 2007. My very first training sessions were based on Debian, but after 2009 I switched to CentOS and other RHEL clones like Oracle Linux. Currently my Linux courses are based on Rocky Linux.

A training company here in France has contacted me to do a Linux System Administration course for them. Their system administrator uses Ubuntu LTS in his daily work, and it looks like he wishes I base all my courses on this distribution. Apparently he’s not a big fan of Red Hat and clones. Go figure.

The first reason I’m choosing RHEL clones for my daily work and for my teaching is perennity. I like to have ten years of support with low risk updates per release. Now I’d like to persuade the guys that I can very well show all the various Debian/Ubuntu-specific aspects to my students, which is what I usually do. But my main teaching is and will always be based on RHEL and clones, because it’s also what I use in my daily work as an admin.

One argument I could come forward with is market share. As I understand it, RHEL and clones have the biggest market share in a professional context. The last Linux training I took as a student some three years ago was based exclusively on CentOS 7. Not a word about Debian or Ubuntu, and no one seemed to care.

What’s your take on this ?

(Fun fact: back in 2009 I even wrote and published a book about Ubuntu, with a foreword by Mark Shuttleworth himself.)

Cheers,

Niki

You might have a debate on your hands there :
RHEL = update every 6 months unless you’re on the last of the last Major release where you get 5 yrs (?)
Ubuntu LTS = new stable LTS every 2 yrs each of which has 5 yrs support
(std optons / both have longer paid support)
Bottom line RHEL want you updating every 6 months. Ubuntu push a 5 yr LTS.