Question regarding OS pinning and kernel update prevention

Hello,

I am a newbie who is fairly comfortable with the Linux environment. So, I request you to be patient with my question as I am not deeply informed about Linux or the nomenclature.

At my office, we ordered a new workstation for CFD simulations and I decided to install Rocky Linux as Star-CCM+ (Third-party software) usually performs better in Linux. The software has been tested extensively and certified for certain versions of Rocky Linux (8.6, 8.8, 8.9 and 9.0, 9.2). Therefore, I went ahead and installed 9.2.

I soon realized that the kernel updates the moment I do sudo dnf update or sudo dnf upgrade. Since I am not sure if any repositories/libraries necessary for the software change between 9.2 and 9.3, I would like to stick to 9.2. I read a couple of suggestions on the forum, tried them out and ran into some challenges.

Method 1: Editing the dnf config file (Suggestion)
In the /etc/dnf/dnf.conf file, I added exclude = kernel*. This posed a problem when I wanted to install any drivers (USB WiFi adapter as the office has no LAN port). I attach below an example:

[abc@localhost ~]$ sudo dnf group install "Development Tools”
Rocky Linux 9 - BaseOS
Rocky Linux 9 - AppStream
Rocky Linux 9 - AppStream
Rocky Linux 9 - Extras
Error:
Problem 1: package glibc-devel-2.34-83.e19.12.x86_64 requires kernel-headers >= 3.2, but none of the providers can be installed
 - cannot install the best candidate for the job
 - package kernel-headers-5.14.0-362.24.1.e19_3.0.1.x86_64 is filtered out by exclude filtering
Problem 2: package redhat-rpm-config-201-1.e19.noarch requires kernel-srpm-macros >= 1.0-6, but none of the providers can be installed
 - conflicting requests
 - package kernel-srpm-macros-1.0-13.e19.noarch is filtered out by exclude filtering
Problem 3: package rpm-build-4.16.1.3-27.e19_3.x86_64 requires system-rpm-config, but none of the providers can be installed