Installer support for RAID1?

I have plenty of experience with CentOS up to and including 7, but no experience with CentOS or Rocky Linux 8.

I want to install a new physical server using software RAID1. Does the installer support this? If I need a separate /boot partition, can this be on a RAID partition?

Any notes on the process of configuring RAID1 during installation?

Many thanks.

Red Hat describes creation of software RAID with installer in Chapter 10. Customizing your installation Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8 | Red Hat Customer Portal

I’d take that as “yes”.

Yes, if Raid 1 then this is fine. Other Raid levels would not work for this.

Here’s my documentation about using RAID 1 with two disks on Rocky Linux 8. On a side note, I’m not a big fan of the graphical installer, so I boot into recovery mode, setup my RAID arrays manually using good old tools like fdisk, gdisk and mdadm. Then I start the installer and use the preconfigured arrays.

Oh yes. Even the RAID1 has more than one metadata format and that can affect /boot too, as
UEFI booting and RAID1 « codeblog did notice:

Alas, the RHEL 8 doc does not say anything about the metadata format. Perhaps the bootloader “understands”?

(Relatively easy to test: do install and see if you can boot. If not, then reinstall and use a workaround.)

Not had that issue on mine with UEFI:

root@s01:~# cat /etc/fstab | grep -i boot
# /boot = /dev/md0
UUID=9f720a1f-7257-4a30-889d-8d06cfc02e74 /boot           ext2    noatime         0       2
# /boot/efi = /dev/nvme0n1p1
UUID=1080-29D6  /boot/efi       vfat    umask=0077      0       1

and:

root@s01:~# mdadm --detail /dev/md0
/dev/md0:
           Version : 1.2
     Creation Time : Mon Jun  7 09:57:23 2021
        Raid Level : raid1
        Array Size : 498688 (487.00 MiB 510.66 MB)
     Used Dev Size : 498688 (487.00 MiB 510.66 MB)
      Raid Devices : 2
     Total Devices : 2
       Persistence : Superblock is persistent

shows 1.x. Grub 2 seems to support that.