How to migrate from KDE Plasma to Gnome in Rocky Linux?

If this is possible without tearing everything down and starting over, I’d like to migrate from KDE Plasma to Gnome as my desktop.

I’ve been using my Rocky Linux system for several months, and I’m very happy with it. My most important desktop app is VirtualBox running Windows 10 Pro in a guest VM . I started with the RL + KDE iso posted here over the summer.

I continue to have a growing number of frustrations with KDE Plasma. Today’s issue is just the latest.

I hope someone can help show me a way to migrate from KDE Plasma to Gnome, hopefully without having to remove and replace desktop tools – especially VirtualBox.

You just install the gnome packages? (There should be a dnf group to conveniently include most of them.)

Hi,

Just tried this on gnome boxes:

sudo dnf groupinstall workstation

Its optional but I would switch to gdm:

sudo systemctl disable sddm
sudo systemctl enable gdm

Reboot

On the login screen click the cog and click one of the standard sessions (wayland or x11).

It should now default to one of these:

Also optional removing kde:

sudo dnf groups remove "KDE Plasma Workspaces"

Thanks Tom.

1 Like

I did the above (as root):

1. dnf group install
  2. systemctl disable sddm
  3. systemctl enable gdm

This seems to have installed v8.5 without breeze. The first few times I restarted, I got a huge virtual keyboard. I clicked the “Enter” key and got login screen with a dropdown at the top left. I tried several choices that mentioned “wayland” and they didn’t work (I got a “Login failed” and a complaint about the missing “breeze”.

When I chose “Standard/Xll”, it put the system into a state where it immediately fails at startup.

When the system attempts to start, instead of a login screen I get white screen with text that says “Oh no, something has gone wrong …” There is a “Log Out” button that does nothing.