How to Install NVIDIA Driver and CUDA on Rocky 9.1

I’m new to Rocky and I want to install nvidia driver and cuda on my newly installed rocky 9.1. After ONE-DAY-LONGED tried times, I still fail to have them installed on my OS, CAN SOMEONE HELP ME with this, here is the basic info:

1. Hardware:

(1)cat /proc/cpuinfo | grep name | cut -f2 -d: | uniq -c

20 12th Gen Intel(R) Core™ i9-12900H

(2)sudo lshw -numeric -C display

[sudo]
*-display
description: 3D controller
product: GA107GLM [RTX A2000 8GB Laptop GPU] [10DE:25BA]
vendor: NVIDIA Corporation [10DE]
physical id: 0
bus info: pci@0000:01:00.0
logical name: /dev/fb0
version: a1
width: 64 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: pm msi pciexpress bus_master cap_list fb
configuration: depth=32 latency=0 mode=1920x1080 visual=truecolor xres=1920 yres=1080

There’re many ways I tried, Including disable nouveau and so on, at end I still failed. Finally I followed the step of the 1st solution in the blog https://forums.rockylinux.org/t/tutorial-for-nvidia-gpu/4234 . I successfully exec all the command:

1. sudo dnf update && sudo dnf upgrade -y
  2. sudo dnf install epel-release
  3. sudo dnf config-manager --add-repo https://developer.download.nvidia.com/compute/cuda/repos/rhel9/x86_64/cuda-rhel9.repo
  4. sudo dnf install kernel-devel-$(uname -r) kernel-headers-$(uname -r)
  5. sudo dnf install nvidia-driver nvidia-settings
  6. sudo dnf install cuda-driver
  7. sudo reboot now

but when I exec the command to check nvidia driver, I still couldn’t exec it successfuly:

What Can I do to get it successfully installed, thanks so much

1 Like

The NVidia’s repo has “dnf modules” (aka “streams”).
See

dnf module list nvidia-driver

Perhaps all necessary packages were not included?
It is possible to install a set of packages (that make a stream) with:

dnf module install stream_spec

where stream_spec is something like nvidia-driver:latest-dkms

Another possibility is that the install did not generate the kernel module.