Error Checking Storage Configuration

I am new to Linux and wanting to install Rocky Linux 9.2 on my iMac 2019:

Spec: Intel 8xCorei9, 1TB SSD drive, 128GB RAM, Radeon Pro Vega 48 8GB

I have wiped my drive clean, however I am not sure what method to use to erase the drive using MacOS disk utility APFS.

When I get to the installation screen, depending on how I have formatted the drive, Rocky Linux only detects around 1GB free each time.

When I select Automatic, Delete All and Reclaim all space, it still says I only have around 1GB free. I then receive the error message Error Checking Storage Configuration.

Is there something I am doing wrong here?

Clayton

Any ideas?

I think I’ve solved the problem. I clicked Full Disk Summary and Boot Loader and removed the selected disk from the list.
Then went back through automatic partitioning and it seems to have worked.

Clayton

2 Likes

OK, it looks as though by deleting the entry, it does not create a boot loader, so I’m back to same issue.

I did go into error message details:

Resource to create this format macefi is unavailable

Any suggestions please.

Clayton

Im dealing with exactly the same problem… Did you solve it?

Hi Diego,

Sorry I have not had the time to look into this further, however I’m attempting to solve this time round.

I am attempting to install Rocky Linux 9.3 on my iMac replacing everything on it:

IMac 2019
1 TB SSD
Intel 8-Core i9
AMD Radeon Pro Vega 48 8GB
128GB RAM

I downloaded the minimal setup from the webpage and I am currently on the Installation Summary Screen. I have completed the Localisation, User Settings and Software sections.

• In the Installation Destination, it says that I have 1.12MiB free.
• Storage Configuration Automatic
• Checked I would like to make additional space available
• I selected the disk 931.8 GB APPLE SSD SM1024L followed by DONE
• I then selected Reclaim Space
• I selected 931.8 GB APPLE SSD SM1024L followed by DELETE ALL