9.3 Installation fails at Grub2-common

Greetz and thanks for even looking. I’ve tried installation several times and I’m a 20+ year veteran on Linux. I test lots of distros to learn and keep my hand in play, but my Main has been Slackware for 21 years.

Installation each time gets as far as “grub2-common” and fails with -

“ERROR in POSTRANS script in rpm package grub2-common”

I have an ext4 partition for root, and ext2 partition for /boot, and a vfat for /boot/efi with each one specced to be reformatted by Rocky. The vfat partition is flagged “esp,boot”.

What am I missing?

UPDATE - I did finally get a successful install by trying all 3 partitions (/, /boot, /boot/efi) on the same hard drive but I want it on an NVME drive. I deleted partitions on the NVME drive to try will all 3 on the same SSD but it fails on grub2-common just like al;l other attempts other than all on the spinner.

I’d just copy the HD install over to NVME and edit “/etc/fstab” if it wasn’t for initramfs. I’d like to boot it with rEFInd but I’ll live with Grub IF I can get a decent install on NVME.

Please, any suggestions gratefully accepted and acknowledged.

UPDATE 2 - Verbatim Error (I’m convinced it’s a legit bug)

"The following error occurred while installing the payload. This is a fatal error and installation will be aborted.

DNF Error: Error in POSTTRANS scriptlet in rpm package grub2-common"