Yum update cannot connect to update repos

Just did a vm install of Rocky Linux 8. All looks to be running fine. But I can’t do system update due to not finding Appstream repo. I see others with similar problems. Can’t go to the site mentioned. it appears down. See error message below:

Curl error (6): Couldn't resolve host name for https://mirrors.rockylinux.org/mirrorlist?arch=x86_64&repo=AppStream-8 [Could not resolve host: mirrors.rockylinux.org]

Can anyone diagnose whether the problem is with my system or with the repo site. I am new to this distro and don’t yet know my way around.
thanks, tom kosvic

I am able to resolve the URL. I would see if it’s an issue with your system configuration or network.

First Try to ping some IP like ping google public DNS like
ping 8.8.8.8
if you are getting response then your network connectivity to the internet is okay.

then you try to ping some URL like
ping nworks.in
if you are getting no response then in that your DNS server setting is not configured in your system, so you need to configure DNS first.

For setting up DNS use nmtui command and select your network interface card then select edit and here you can make DNS entry.
hope it will help.

Please share your response.

1 Like

What platform are you installing your VM on? Virtualbox? Did you set your network configurations correctly for your VM? Bridged Interface instead of NAT?

I am using libvirt (KVM). I am using the default network settings set up by vm manager. NAT is being used; not bridging. Bridging asks for a device name that I do not know. Installed libvirt device settings says virtio under the NAT setting.

I have 5 other linux’ setups as vms + windows10. All of these get internet and update fine. But I do think the problem is with the vm; not rocky linux. I will keep trying things.

thanks for ideas to check. tom kosvic

That runs ‘dnsmasq’ on the host that serves as both DHCP and DNS servers for the VM guests.