Ups (power) shutdown software

I have used apcupsd with early versions of Linux. I have seen posts on difficulties with that software. What I am looking for is some word regarding any software that works, AND tells which hardware is being used. I see Cyberpower has software, but not for Rocky 9. I know there is NUT, but I have no experience with it. I have used the cloud management capabilities of larger APC units, but in this case we have only a standalone server and a UPS that costs more than the computer probably wouldn’t fly. So if you have apcupsd working on Rocky 9 and connected via usb I appreciate the details. If not, any suggestions as to working ups (1500 va is good) and associated software that installs and runs on Rocky 9 would be greatly appreciated.

I use apcupsd on a RL9 server connected via USB. What would you like to know?

APC Backup-UPS XS 1500

I’d like to know everything. I used apcupsd under Centos 7 at the same customer with no problems. If I remember we installed it with yum but I do not believe similar is available for R9. Did you have to customize at all? What did you have to do to get R9 to shut down? I thought selinux by default would not let you.

Not much to tell.

dnf install apcupsd (don’t remember which repo has it)

Edit /etc/apcupsd/apcupsd.conf. See attached. I think most of the fields are left as defaults. Don’t think I changed anything else in /etc/apcupsd

IIRC, the installation installs a service. You might have to do: systemctl enable apcupsd and systemctl start apcupsd.

I have selinux turned off, so I don’t know how that impacts things.

Howard

(Attachment apcupsd.conf is missing)

Thanks. Your intended apcupsd.conf is missing. As for selinux, I’ve not used it much, but for R9 I believe it will prevent changing the system state. can’t shut down unless you allow it.

apcupsd.conf is missing because the list software wouldn’t let me post, and I don’t have your private email. Happy to send it if you want.