Local DNS or Not

I have a local “Home” network behind a wifi router connected to my cable modem. The cable modem is setup in pass through mode. The wifi router is running DD-wrt and provides DHCP service via DNSMASQ. I have a SAMBA server that also provides backup for all my other laptops and work station via BackupPC.
Is there an advantage to implementing a DNS server on the wifi router for this use case? The Rocky file server is just a node on the network so not the gateway.

The ‘dnsmasq’ is both DHCP and DNS server. I presume that the default config makes DHCP tell clients that “I’m your DNS” and thus it caches queries for all.

Surely you can configure the instance in DD-wrt to resolve the names of your “Home LAN” too?

Yes, maybe so. But I’m not providing a “fully qualified domain name” for my network. All the non phone devices on my network have static IP’s and I maintain the /hosts file with the respective names on all. The DHCP serves phones and occasional family guests that were previously on the local net.
It’s a dual band router and I maintain a separate network that is isolated from the local net for other guests.
The router points to either my ISP’s DNS or another well known DNS server. I guess I may not be asking the right question based on your response.

I have an Ubiquiti router at home. I think it runs dnsmasq, but frankly I don’t care what is in there as long as I can configure it, which I can. I too have static addresses and the DHCP server config has (MAC, IP, name) triplets for those clients. Additionally, I have/set domainname only known within my LAN. I’m 100% certain that it is unique – no chance to collide with any public domain. That is, every client gets a fqdn from the router and the router also acts as the DNS server. For all queries not in my home LAN, the DNS server queries the ISP’s DNS server and/or whatever I’ve configured the router to use.