It is posible to Downgrade Rocky linux 9 to Rocky linux 8.6?

Hi, I want to use Maya 2023 on my computer, I see that it is not compatible with Rocky Linux 9 because it needs libraries that cannot be installed. I have been thinking if it would be possible to downgrade to Rocky linus 8.5 or if I would just have to do a new installation of the system.

The libraries or packages that i need are:
lsb-core
libpcre16
gamin

Downgrades are not possible. You will need to do a fresh installation of your system.

1 Like

ok.
I am new with Rocky.

is there much difference between version 8.5 and 9?

This is what I have at the moment

You will find differences in versions of packages, software, desktop (eg gnome is version 3), hardware, and so on. The only way to find out if it will work on your hardware is to try to install and see how the system operates. I cannot say definitively if your hardware will work on 8.

Note that Rocky Linux 8.5 is unsupported. It will have bugs and security issues that are addressed in the current version. Only the latest is supported. If Maya is locked to a specific version of Rocky, I would request them to support a newer version of Rocky Linux.

ok thank you. i will wait then.

Rocky 8 and Rocky 9 are two distinct distros, just like Windows 10 and Windows 11 are similar but definitely not the same.

I see what you mean, they’ve only listed Rocky Linux 8.5 as a validated OS. Looks like they haven’t updated their requirements past Sept 2022:

These kinds of application support questions might be best directed towards Autodesk support, but I suspect that if Rocky Linux 8.5 is supported with Maya 2023, then Rocky 8.7 should also work.

But yes, like others in the thread mentioned, you’ll have to fully reinstall the OS to move from Rocky 9 to Rocky 8:

https://docs.rockylinux.org/guides/8_6_installation/

Recent thread says no: Maya 2023 on Rocky 8.7