Infiniband Network HowTo

Dear All,
I want to set up a small HPC installation here at our uiniversity using Rocky Linux. We have infiniband network hardware available, but I’m very new to this, thus I’m looking for a comprehensive “HowTo”, which ideally guides me through the setup process. Please, could anyone point me into the right direction or provide me with some information. The cluster is already up and running with 10GbE network, but - as mentioned - I’m completely new to the “Infiniband way” of networking. I found that I will have to choose “IP over IB”, but looking at the web I’m missing the correct/detailed information on configuring.

Any help/guidance appreciated, thanks in advance!

Will this PDF helps?

Hey @mdcTUX, great and thanks a lot, I did not find this via web search. However, am I right to choose IPOIB for setting up an infrastructure for Distributed Memeory setup, i.e. for MPI applications driven by slurm scheduler?

Hi @hazel herer I think you better wait for someone which has done this before. I self have never set up any Infiniband setup.

@hazel I have installed a fair few Infiniband networks in my time. Happy to help you. Please send me a message (not sure if this is possible here)
Firstly, you have a choice of using the distro supplied IB utilities and drivers or thoseporvided as a bundle by Mellanox. The Mellanox ‘OFED’ distro has more performance, but has to be installed ‘by hand’.
ALso IPOIB is the mecahnism for running IP traffic over Infiniband. It is not strictly necessary- IB has its own ways of working. However you should definitely set it up.

You say you want to set up HPC. There is a layer above Rocky Linux - the cluster management and deployment stack. There are choices here also.
Also do you know the hardware details of
your servers
Infiniband NIC cards
cables

(the cables dont really matter, however worth pointing out that cables should not be bent excessively in an IB setup)