How to create domain server

hi there,

As i am new to linux and trying different things, Im wondering how in linux that we can create a domain server and how just like in windows you can join computers to that domain. Im currently using rocky, centos 7 and ubuntu. And im just curious and want to test to create a domain server and join computers to that domain.

Also is it possible for example my domain server is rocky linux and i would like to join my centos 7 and ubuntu to that rocky linux domain? Also is windows machine can be join to that domain as well?

What you’re looking for is FreeIPA. Highly recommend it. It’s installable on a Rocky Linux system by running:

dnf install ipa-server
ipa-server-install

For clients:

# centos 7
yum install ipa-client
# rocky linux, centos stream, rhel 8 and up
dnf install ipa-client

# ubuntu
apt-get install freeipa-client

# all
ipa-client-install

There’s numerous guides out there on how to set it up with examples.

1 Like

The OP asked how to create a domain, freeipa isn’t a domain, using their own terminology, ’ FreeIPA is an integrated security information management solution’.

The problem with creating an AD domain on rhel based distros comes from redhat deciding to push their inferior product (my opinion) and not to provide the functionality built into Samba that can provision as an Active Directory Domain Controller.

This leaves you with four options:
A) Use freeipa, but it isn’t a DC.
B) Build Samba with the required code (hint, if you do this, do not use MIT, it is experimental).
C) Find ready built Samba RPMs that can be provisioned as an AD DC.
D) Probably the most controversial on here, use Debian.

What is a “domain”? Particularly, in “rocky, centos, and ubuntu” environment?