How to configure multiple nics in different subnets

Hi!

I’m new to Rocky Linux and doing the first things to get it up and running. Doing so, I thought to use it as a server running docker containers with applications I do use with different VMs (Proxmox) at the moment. This means that I do have to use different vlans as I separated my clients into different categories.

To get this I used Mr. Google and followed this little howto:
Configure two network cards in a different subnet on RHEL 6, RHEL 7, CentOS 6 and CentOS 7 | Jensd's I/O buffer

Doing so I cannot get both cards being usable… It’s always just one subnet that is working. The other one gets an IP by DHCP but isn’t reachable. There is no difference in having just one virtual network device and setting up two vlans or having two virutal network devices within the proper vlan.

# cat ./rule-ens18
from 192.168.12.1/32 tab 1 priority 100

# cat route-ens18
192.168.12.0/24 dev ens18 tab 1
default via 192.168.12.1 dev ens18 tab 1

# ip route show tab 1
default via 192.168.12.1 dev ens18 
192.168.12.0/24 dev ens18 scope link`
# cat ./rule-ens19
from 10.246.17.1/32 tab 2 priority 200

# cat route-ens19
10.246.17.0/24 dev ens19 tab 2
devault via 10.246.17.1 dev ens19 tab 2

# ip route show tab 2
10.246.17.0/24 dev ens19 scope link

The ip route show tab 2 isn’t showing the ‘default via…’ setting - but I don’t know the cause for this…

Is there someone who knows about a howto I can use with Rocky Linux 8.5 to get this setup configured?

KInd regards,

DerTom

First, EL6 did configure network with initscripts. EL7 and EL8 do it with NetworkManager.service by default, although network.service is still available (but deprecated in EL8). Most guides assume network.service. Not that it matters here.