GPU for non gamers

i am still learning c and python as both are entry level and easy languages.

so, i am going to buy a new laptop soon.

i am confused choosing between AMD Ryzen™ 7 5800X, 32GB DDR4 Ram with 512GB NVME SSD
or
AMD Ryzen™ 7 5800X, 8GB DDR4 Ram with 256GB NVME SSD with RTX 3060

then i looked up for what is gpu and why it does.

then i found some use cases:

1. Content Creation (photoshop , video shop etc)
  2. Web (like netflix or prime 4k streaming)
  3. Visualization or virtualization for AI or ML programmers i guess.
  4. Bitcoin Mining.
  5. Of course for gaming

but i dont do conetent creation nor web streaming ( Torrent long live) or any other above.

obviously , i should go for first configuration which is 32gb ram, with inbuilt or integrated graphics card.

what are your thoughts?
and
1) What are other use cases you know where GPU is useful for non gamers or for programmers?
2) Does Rocky LInux support NVidia RTX 30** graphics cards?

1 Like

Back in the 1990s computer manufacturers used to build both CPUs (you know what that is, I am sure) and math co-processors (a separate designated processor for higher-end mathematics).

The industry stopped making them, and then eventually got back to it, but in a different style. Now the math-coprocessor is essentially built into your GPU (Graphics Processing Unit), which also enables you to do math crunching by offloading those calculation responsibilities to the GPU.

The GPU is a video chipset, but so robust you can also take onthose calculations, previously described to the GPU. This is a Win-Win situation for corporations that need the ability to do high end math, and quickly. There is even application of GPUs to do the same thing but within virtualization environments; which is really darned cool!