Recommended Packages for new users

Hello everyone

I have just joined the forums.
Ive heard a lot of good things about Rocky Linux ever since the CentOS project changed for downstream to upstream. I’m new to the REL Eco system. I come form the Debian world but want to diversify my knowledge so here I am.

I’m busy setting up rock with cloud-init and was just wondering what packages do community members use that just makes life abit easier and convenient.

Ive already got

• hotop
  • cifs-utils
  • fail2ban
  • unzip
  • rsyslog
  • cockpit
  • nfs-utils
  • iscsi

any more suggestions would be much appreciated

The answer to your question depends on your use case.

Webserver? Mailserver? Desktop? Software development? Accounting? Publishing? Network security? Something else (since this list is far from exhaustive)?

Personally I use Rocky for everything from my personal desktop to creating plates for a printing press but what you want to do will likely be different to what I find useful.

Hi,
On our servers as a general practice , we installed the below package after OS installation

yum install epel-release.noarch

yum install screen telnet net-tools lsof vim bind-utils wget curl tcpdump rsync bash-completion dstat sysstat lvm2 mlocate smem make unzip

I just want to get a general use case out of it from. containerization with podman. network appliance and cloudstack or openstack hosts for bare metal. but basically anything i find interesting that prefers a RHEL distro maybe even storage targets like ceph or gluster.

With regard to your use case i had o idea it was so versatile but its Linux so it makes sense

All in the cause of learning new skills

Thats actually a very useful list i got a few of them when i was still thinking link curl and unzip.

Thanks a lot :slight_smile: